NEWPORT BEACH

My home-town

volley

Newport Beach is one of the most popular Oceanside towns in Orange County (OC), California. It was featured in the well-known TV show “The OC”. Yes, Newport is the faithful reflection of the coastal lifestyle of the affluent Californian teenagers who we all saw on that show.

However, Newport is a town of contrasts. From lavish waterfront cottages which golden glasses to small and charming wooden houses, they all lay along the Oceanside in an imposing semblance.
glasshouses

Here you will not only run into gorgeous and tanned surfers, but also old ladies in their tracksuits performing their daily workout routines.

I have been fortunate to live in one of those houses with ocean views. It actually fits perfectly with my lifestyle J. We called it “The Glass Palace”. Everything was awesome there…The roar of the waves and the whisper of the wind every early morning and late night, the beach views with the always bright and blue sky, the stunning orange and pink sunsets.  Those crowded crazy parties at our patios, those breakfasts ignoring the trash and enjoying the views, and especially those dinners at dawn and seen the moon rise. I used to spend long hours taking pictures on full-moon nights without caring about my stomach or the breeze buffeting my clothes.

terracecollagestreetstrawberries

Newport Beach is a spicy Californian town, with a beachy vibe. As well as it is a tiny, old-style village with the electric cables all over the visitor’s heads.

cables

I love riding my beach cruiser thorough its bumpy and narrow streets; getting lost and enjoying shooting photos hidden and authentic places. I always take my camera with me when I go for a ride. It is my buddy to take that particular angle and personal feeling in mind. You will always bump into nice surprises where you least expect.

streets

vans

But doubtless, the funniest times with my bike have been when I have ridden it with my reckless buddy Andrea in her skateboard, circumventing the huge amount of riders, joggers, walkers and skaters who run along the boardwalk of the beach. Even more difficult when recording and riding at the same time. Needless to say that it definitely harder with my lack of handling skills that you all guys already know… Yeah, Elena Reckless inviting the danger!

ridingsunsentchloe

Chloe, I still remember when we rode until the end of Newport Beach. You introduced me to The Wedge beach, and from there we enjoyed the views of Lido Isle, Balboa Island and these tiny solitary rocky beaches where I used to go riding at the present. Still today, I often go to the Wedge for shooting the skillful bodysurfers riding those insanely huge waves.

wedge

The other side of Newport is that it´s a very “seeny” town. The people who live at oceanfront houses love to be seen. They show off themselves having their cup of wine over their nice outdoor fire-place while they practice their favorite workout: People watching, in other words, the art of observing people and what is more important for them, been seen! They have their living rooms open to the public with their family photographs facing the promenade so that we can see and meet all the family members at a glance. Everything is like a TV commercial of their great lifestyle!

Nevertheless, I would take over their sporty lifestyle. Living at the beach allows you to have so much fun. Every day after work we used to go running along the beach until the sun went down the west. The stunning views and the unexpected surprise in the ocean always put a smile on my face. Some days we are lucky to see sea lions and even dolphins! That’s awesome!

runingsealion

Working out or to simply having fun at the beach is one of the most popular things to do in Orange County. And in Newport the beach has a lot of room to play. You can always see people doing any kind of sports – Surfing, playing volleyball, rugby, running, skating, or riding any kind of gadget with wheels and if it comes with music and lot of lights, way better! You can also see surfers in wetsuits riding their skateboards or carrying their surf-boards in the bike. Play it cool, dude!

We also surfed, of course. Finding yourself floating over the ocean, seeing the tiny town with its palms oscillating, is a hilarious and relaxing experience at the same time.

waterpic2

After all these activities, you must be hungry. Let’s drink and grub! There are plenty of amazing bars and eateries walking distance from the beach- I love it here, where you can walk in shorts and flip-flops everywhere. As a feast for your senses, I recommend Sakae, a Japanese restaurant at 23rd street. However, if you are ready for a coastal California diner, go to The Crab Cooker and try their Clam Chowder soup. Lastly, if you want to try a classic typical home-made burger go to TK Burger. Sorry, I will not recommend you the popular Californian burger chain Inn & Out. – An acceptable burger for the money you pay. But seriously, what a fries!

sakae

Once you have recovered your energy, let’s party! Newport is almost a party town and Balboa is so much fun. Come to our beach house, we’re gonna have a blast! And later we can go clubbing to Woody’s Wharf or Baja Sharkeez with the Spanish deco. This last one, much better on Taco Tuesdays. Don’t miss out their Margaritas!

I loved my time and kind of life in this beautiful place. Newport Beach and all my friends here will always have a special place in my heart.

IMG_3379

Keep diving in,

Elena

2 thoughts on “NEWPORT BEACH

  1. Aww, why am I only discovering your blog now?
    Lady, I remember our bike ride to the Wedge as if it were yesterday.
    Miss You! Come to PDX soon, or else I’ll come visit you too!
    Keep up the good work, I love reading you!

    Like

Leave a comment